

PRESIDENT

Karl A. Racine District of Columbia Attorney General

PRESIDENT-ELECT

Tom Miller

lowa Attorney General

VICE PRESIDENT

Josh Stein

North Carolina Attorney General

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Jeff Landry

Louisiana Attorney General

Chris Toth

Executive Director

1850 M Street NW 12th Floor Washington, DC 20036 (202) 326-6000 www.naag.org

June 18, 2021

The Honorable Amy Klobuchar Chair Subcommittee on Competition Policy, Antitrust, & Consumer Rights

425 Dirksen Senate Office Bldg. Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Michael Lee Ranking Member Subcommittee on Competition Policy, Antitrust, & Consumer Rights

361A Russell Senate Office Bldg. Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable David N. Cicilline Chair Subcommittee on Antitrust. Commercial and Administrative Law 2233 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Ken Buck Ranking Member Subcommittee on Antitrust, Commercial and Administrative 2455 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

Support for the State Antitrust Enforcement Venue Act of 2021 Re:

Dear Chairs Klobuchar and Cicilline and Ranking Members Lee and Buck:

We write to express our strong support for the State Antitrust Enforcement Venue Act of 2021; H.R. 3460, S.1787. State attorneys general around the country are actively pursuing significant antitrust enforcement actions on behalf of consumers in their respective states. Although these law enforcement actions are brought in the public interest, they may be subject to transfer to a multidistrict litigation at the behest of defendants, where the cases are typically postponed and may be joined with numerous other lawsuits brought by private plaintiffs. Enforcement actions filed by the Department of Justice or the Federal Trade Commission on behalf of the United States, however, cannot be transferred to a multidistrict litigation. 28 U.S.C. § 1407(g). Federal enforcers are entitled to select and remain in their preferred venue and pursue relief without undue delay and distractions caused by the particularized interests of private plaintiffs. State antitrust enforcement actions should be extended the same protections from transfer as those brought on behalf of the United States.

As Congress has recognized, the states play an essential role in the enforcement of competition laws in the United States. States should accordingly be on equal footing with federal enforcers in deciding where, when, and how to prosecute cases. We appreciate your sponsorship of the State Antitrust Enforcement Venue Act of 2021 and advocate for its passage as soon as possible so that our citizens can benefit from more efficient, effective, and timely adjudication of antitrust actions.

Sincerely,

Phil Weiser

Colorado Attorney General

Jeff Landry

Louisiana Attorney General

Treg R. Taylor

Alaska Attorney General

Rob Bonta

California Attorney General

Karl A. Racine

District of Columbia Attorney General

Christopher M. Carr

Cupelina

Georgia Attorney General

Clare E. Connors

Hawaii Attorney General

William Tong

Connecticut Attorney General

Ken Paxton

Texas Attorney General

Leslie Rutledge

Arkansas Attorney General

Kathleen Jennings

Delaware Attorney General

Ashley Moody

Florida Attorney General

Leevin Taitano Camacho Guam Attorney General

Lawrence Wasden

Idaho Attorney General

Ke Al

Kwame Raoul Illinois Attorney General

Jon Miller

Tom Miller Iowa Attorney General

Daniel Cameron Kentucky Attorney General

Brian Frosh Maryland Attorney General

Dana Nessel Michigan Attorney General

Lynn Fitch Mississippi Attorney General

Austin Knudsen Montana Attorney General

Aaron D. Ford Nevada Attorney General

Gurbir S. Grewal New Jersey Attorney General Cold Colutes

Todd Rokita Indiana Attorney General

Denk Schmidt

Derek Schmidt Kansas Attorney General

Hanon M. Frey

Aaron M. Frey Maine Attorney General

Maura Healey

Massachusetts Attorney General

Keith Ellison

Minnesota Attorney General

0 12/2

Eric S. Schmitt

Missouri Attorney General

Douglas Peterson

Nebraska Attorney General

John M. Formella

New Hampshire Attorney General

Hector Balderas

New Mexico Attorney General

Letitia James

New York Attorney General

Wayne Stenehjem

North Dakota Attorney General

Dave Yost

Ohio Attorney General

Ellen F. Rosenblum

Oregon Attorney General

Domingo Emanuelli-Hernández Puerto Rico Attorney General

Alan Wilson

South Carolina Attorney General

Herbert H. Slatery III

Tennessee Attorney General

T.J. Donovah

Vermont Attorney General

Robert W. Ferguson

Washington Attorney General

Josh Stein

North Carolina Attorney General

Edward Manibusan

Northern Mariana Islands Attorney General

Dawn Cash

Oklahoma Acting Attorney General

Josh Shapiro

Pennsylvania Attorney General

Peter F. Neronha

Rhode Island Attorney General

Jason R. Ravnsborg

South Dakota Attorney General

Sean Reyes

Utah Attorney General

Mark R. Herring

Virginia Attorney General

PATRICK Momsey

lave R. L

Patrick Morrisey

West Virginia Attorney General

Joshua L. Kail

Joshua L. Kaul Wisconsin Attorney General Bridget Hill

Bridget Hill Wyoming Attorney General

