## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

October 20, 2021

Dr. Saum Sutaria Chief Executive Officer Tenet Healthcare 14201 Dallas Parkway Dallas, TX 75254

Dear Dr. Sutaria:

We are writing to lend our voices to those of Mayor Joseph M. Petty and other public officials and community leaders who have expressed concerns regarding Tenet Health's failure to provide an equitable settlement to the ongoing nurses strike. The loss of beds at St. Vincent Hospital - a decision by Tenet Health's management - has only exacerbated this crisis.

We are alarmed and dismayed by Tenet's efforts to prolong this crisis with their demand that nurses be denied a return to the positions they held, many of them for decades, prior to the strike. Tenet's approach violates long accepted standards for the conclusion of a work stoppage and jeopardizes the safety of the patients who will be subject to care from more inexperienced replacement staff. Of more concern is Tenet's decision to purposefully close desperately needed beds and eliminate services as a punitive ploy to force the nurses to end their strike, using patients and our communities as pawns in their anti-union strategy.

We value the role our nurses have played and continue to play in keeping our communities safe, and will not tolerate any attempt to punish them for exercising their lawful rights to advocate for their patients under federal labor law. We further oppose any effort to use this situation as a launching pad for nationwide attacks on long held labor standards. For the safety of our community, we join Mayor Petty in calling upon you, Saum Sutaria, as Tenet Health's CEO, to come to Worcester to end this crisis as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Warren United State Senator

James P. the Donen

James McGovern Member of Congress

Edward J Markey

Edward J. Markey United States Senator

Jula

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Stephen Lynch Member of Congress

Kacheine M. Clark

Katherine Clark Member of Congress

Set black-

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

L. D.a.

Jake Auchincloss Member of Congress

Amm S. Pussel

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Blillin R. Kenting

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Ailan Elica

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress